Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Scott Watkins: MUSIC

Symphonic Rhapsody, Op. 14 (1919)

(Edited by Scott Watkins)
January 1, 2018
Composed by Howard Hanson

Critical Commentary, page 8:
"The inscription by the composer which appears at the bottom of the final page of the score is a portion of a verse from the King James Version of the Holy Bible, John, Chapter Three, Verse Eight: “so is every one that is born of the spirit.” The full text of this biblical passage reads: “The wind bloweth where it listeth, and thou hearest the sound thereof, but canst not tell whence it cometh, and whither it goeth: so is every one that is born of the Spirit.”

Score, page 15, measure 61, beat 3, third 16th note: should be A-natural (accidental is missing).